Not sleeping good

One question, I am new at al thsi LD stuff. I havent had a dream, but my dream recall is getting better, I remember 2 dreams from last nite (I remembered 3 but forgot 1) The only way I was able to do this was by taking nyquil and sleeping ealier than I normally do. then I slept pretty crappy. I woke up for about 2 hours later and took another nap, but I feel like crap. So my question is to had these lucid dreams do you have to take all these extra naps and wake up throught the night? :help:

Also another strange thing… I think I may have been starting to have a lucid dream. My body was trying to wake up and I tried to stay sleeping telling myself to have a lucid dream. Everything in my dream was black with white out lines, and I could’nt move. finally I woke up. Man this is frustrating. :grrr:

i’d advise against being dependent on nyquil for you to have good dream recall.

as far as waking up many times during the night, i don’t think it’s necessary to do that to have LDs, but i think it does help. a lotta people use the WBTB technique where you esentially only wake up once during the night about 2 hours before you need to get up.

personally, it doesn’t bother me to wake up a couple times during the night (i do it naturally sometimes) but if it’s causing you to not sleep well, then i’d advise against continuing it. everybody’s different, find what works for you.

and another thing, if you find that you’re getting frustrated, take a break. some people are adamantly against breaks, but i’m adamantly in favor of them. you’re just starting out with LDing, have fun with it, be patient with it. in my experience, forcing it and trying too hard are only defeating to practice

good luck :yinyang:

Thanks oneiromancer,